Statutory Curriculum Information

Reception: EYFS

Children entering Reception have access to the EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) curriculum. It is split into the different areas below. 

Prime Areas of Learning Specific Areas of Learning
Communication and Language Literacy
Physical Development Maths
Personal, Social and Emotional Development Understanding of the World
  Expressive Arts and Design

Alongside these the EYFS details the characteristics of effective learning which are shown below:

1. Playing and exploring

2. Active learning

3. Creative and thinking critically

Much of the children’s learning takes place through structured play both in and out of doors.  This is guided by the Foundation Stage staff and also places high value on incorporating child-initiated activities.


In Reception and KS1 children are taught Phonics using Little Wandle.  


Children start by reading Little Wandle phonics books which are matched to the phase of phonics they are learning and therefore the children can decode. 


Once children can read fluently they move from Little Wandle and onto coloured scheme books.  We use a variety of schemes.

  • Lighthouse
  • Story Worlds
  • All Aboard
  • Project X

Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2

The National Curriculum provides a framework for teaching key skills that our children are taught from Year 1- Year 6.  These are taught through different subjects and focus areas. 

  • Key Stage 1 refers to years 1 and 2.
  • Key Stage 2 refers to years 3,4,5 and 6. 

Communication of the curriculum

  • At the beginning of each year, staff hold welcome meetings to inform parents and carers of the expectations, curriculum and coverage in each year group.
  • Staff send home topic webs each term to inform parents and carers of the curriculum their children will be following. These can be found on the individual class pages.