Key Stage One and Two

Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2

The National Curriculum 2014  provides a framework for teaching key skills that our children are taught from Year 1- Year 6.  These are taught through different subjects and focus areas. 

  • Key Stage 1 refers to years 1 and 2.
  • Key Stage 2 refers to years 3,4,5 and 6. 

Creative Curriculum

Staff at St Nicholas CE Primary School use a broad and varied approach to promote the teaching and learning for all of our children. Staff have worked hard to develop a creative approach to teaching and learning throughout the school based on key skills.  This has led to a more topic-based, creative curriculum throughout the school which places value on the wide range of ways children engage in learning. 

Communication of the curriculum

  • At the beginning of each year, staff hold welcome meetings to inform parents and carers of the expectations, curriculum and coverage in each year group.
  • Staff send home topic webs each term to inform parents and carers of the curriculum their children will be following. These can be found on the individual class pages.

Click on the links below, which detail the curriculum topics in KS1 and KS2.



In Reception and KS1 children are taught Phonics using 'Jolly Phonics' and 'Letters and Sounds'.


Children start by reading 'Big Cat' phonics books and then move onto reading a wide variety of reading schemes as they move through Key Stage One, including:

  • Songbirds
  • Oxford Reading Tree
  • Spiral Starters
  • Discovery World
  • Lighthouse
  • Story Chest
  • Story Worlds
  • All Aboard
  • Project X